Pillars & Programmes

ICN has identified three key programmes areas as crucial to the betterment of nursing and health. These are known as ICN’s Pillars and they are: Professional Practice, Regulation, and Socio-Economic Welfare. The association’s activities are focused in these areas. The eHealth and Leadership for Change™ and the Global Nursing Leadership Institute (GNLI) are three significant ICN projects which come under the professional practice pillar. Leadership in Negotiation is a project which comes under the socio-economic welfare pillar.

Professional Practice

  • eHealth (ICNP, ICN Telenursing Network, Connecting Nurses)
  • Leadership for Change™
  • Global Nursing Leadership Institute


  • Global database of nurse regulators

Socio-Economic Welfare

  • Workforce Forums
  • Leadership in Negotiation
  • International Centre for Human Resources in Nursing (ICHRN)